Hamburg’s HTHC and Alster win ABN AMRO U14 titles

Hamburg clubs enjoyed double delight at the ABN AMRO EHL U14 competitions as Harvestehuder THC and Der Club an der Alster won the girls and boys titles respectively.

For HTHC, they emerged from the semi-finals with an excellent 3-0 win over Junior FC. They took the lead in the ninth minute via Vivian Knauer and, after a big battle, they pulled away in the last eight minutes courtesy of Fenna Utesch and Leni Fischer.

Surbiton, meanwhile, won the other semi-final thanks to a single goal from Mathilde Glover to send them through to the final.

In the decider, it was a repeat of their thrilling group stage meeting as HTHC completed a perfect tournament with another 3-0 success.

Vivian Knauer again gave them an early lead in the fifth minute before scoring late in the game via Jolina Hillmer and Carla Zimmerman, making them the first ever EHL U14 Girls champions.

Waterloo ended third overall with a 2-1 win in the third place playoff against Junior while Den Bosch took the laurels in the fifth place playoff against Dromore.

On the boys side, Alster prevailed 2-0 in their morning contest to reach the final courtesy of a goal in each half – Fabian Vogel netting in the first, Jannes Wiechmann in the second.

They would face Atlètic Terrassa in the decider after the Spanish representatives edged out Surbiton 1-0 thanks to an Eduard Marques goal against Royal Leopold.

The final was a high quality affair which Atlètic took the lead in a couple of minutes into the second half through Miquel Sanchez. 

But Alster fought back with Jakob Breuel equalising and Fabian Vogel got the winner with eight minutes to go.

Leopold landed the third place when they edged out Surbiton 2-1 with all the goals landing in the second half while Kampong ended fifth with 6-2 success against Austria’s WAC.

ABN AMRO U14 Girls 

Final: HTHC 3 Surbiton 0

Semi-finals: HTHC 3 Junior FC 0; Waterloo Ducks 0 Surbiton 1

3rd/4th place playoff: Waterloo Ducks 2 Junior FC 1

5th/6th place playoff: Den Bosch 4 Dromore 0


Final: Atlètic Terrassa 1 Der Club an der Alster 2

Semi-finals: Surbiton 0 Atlètic Terrassa 1; Royal Leopold 0 Der Club an der Alster 2

3rd/4th place playoff: Surbiton 1 Royal Leopold 2

5th/6th place playoff: SV Kampong 6 WAC 2