Atlètic Terrassa and Club de Campo win Spanish Cup titles

Atlètic Terrassa and Club de Campo won the Copa del Rey and the Iberdrola Copa de la Reina titles last weekend, respectively, at Real Club de Polo de Barcelona’s Eduardo Dualde grounds following a thrilling week of action.

For Atlèti, the series came down to the last play when Pau Cunill fired home a dramatic penalty corner winner for a 4-3 victory over the host club, sparking wild celebrations with their large travelling support.

Early on, Santi Ibáñez’s deflection broke the deadlock and it was 2-0 via Grau Albert before half-time. The hosts reacted with force and two goals from Marc Miralles, one from play, the other an accurate strike from play, levelled the game at 2-2 in the 41st minute.

Xero Gasol’s side responded instantly with Marc Vizcaíno regaining the advantage within five minute and they stayed just in front into the final quarter thanks to strong Marc Calzada saves.

Marc Reynè, though, did tie things up to set up a brilliant closing sequence where Atlètic got the vital chance from a corner with Cunill adding yet another memorable goal to his remarkable collection in the last 12 months. It was their 16th cup title.

For Campo, they secured their 18th Queen’s Cup with a 4-2 final win over regular rivals Junior FC.

They led from the start, scoring in the sixth minute when María López’s shot was touched in by Carmen Cano. Junior were back on terms to the delight of their Sant Cugat faithful when Carlota Petchame.

But Eduardo Aguilar’s side pulled clear either side of half-time with Lucía Abajo putting them back in front and they were further ahead courtesy of Begoña García who made it 3-1 in the 40th minute.

A spectacular shot from Mariona Serrahima was rejected by María Ángeles Ruíz but Anna Gil was on hand to cut the margin from the rebound. Ruiz had to be alert to keep the narrow lead in tact before Cano got the settling goal in the 62nd minute.