Campo and Atlètic hoping to add national titles to EHL second place

EHL runners-up Club de Campo and Atlètic Terrassa have the chance to add the Spanish national titles to their seasonal haul after their Saturday semi-final wins.

Both beat Real Club de Polo with the former reaching the women’s final where they will be up against Junior FC while Atlèti will come up against Campo’s men’s team.

For Campo’s women, they were 4-1 winners in the first of Saturday’s four games, building a 3-0 lead at half-time and they never looked in trouble after that. Corner goals from Candela Mejías and María López set them on their way and a double from Begoña Garcia put them well clear in the second half prior to a Sofia Maldonado’s consolation goal in the final quarter.

Junior FC advanced to the final thanks to Laia Vidosa’s key goal in the 58th minute as they beat Complutense 2-1. Mariona San Jose deflected in for Junior before Berta Agullo levelled the game at half-time.

In the men’s semi-finals, this season’s fairytale story continued as Pau Cunill rammed home yet another penalty corner goal with two minutes to go to earn Atlètic Terrassa a 3-2 win over Real Club de Polo.

Cunill also opened the scoring for a 1-0 half-time scoreline. Xavi Lleonart equalised two minutes after the break before Jordi Bonastre had the hosts back in front going into the final quarter.

Roc Oliva tied it at 2-2 with a goal against his former club but Cunill added yet another goal to add to his incredible 2020/21 scrapbook.

Campo, meanwhile, scored four times in the third quarter to come back from 2-0 and 3-1 down to beat Club Egara 4-3.

Egara got off to a flying start with Pau Quemada scoring twice in the first half. But Ricardo Sanchez gave Campo a chance only for Egara to restore their two-goal lead via Xavi Aguilar.

But former Wimbledon man scored twice in two minutes to level the game at 3-3 and Sanchez got what proved to be the winner at 4-3.

Sunday sees the women’s final open the day at 10.30am (CET) and the men’s final take place at 2pm (CET).