Match Details

6 - 0
06 Oct 14:30 CET
Pau Negre Stadium, Barcelona


'13 Thomas Briels (10) - FG
'15 Bob de Voogd (19) - FG
'21 Teun Beins (17) - PC
'24 Lucas Martinez (22) - FG
'42 Thomas Briels (10) - FG
'56 Lucas Martinez (22) - FG


'44 Gijs van Merriënboer
'57 Mink van der Weerden

Match videos

Watch them on our video platform

Match report

HC Oranje-Rood eased to victory as they broke down a strong defensive performance from Scotland’s Grange who had their moments but could not bridge the gap in star quality.

Indeed, Douglas Gourlay had a busy afternoon between the posts and made a number of big saves while they initially kept Oranje-Rood out with Mink van der Weerden whipping two drag-flicks wide.

The breakthrough did come in the 12th minute when Thomas Briels snuck along the baseline. His intended cross fell back to him at the base of the right post and he nudged it over the line for 1-0.

Grange did win a corner following Todd Mills good work down the left channel but Pirmin Blaak was equal to what was their best chance on goal.

Bob de Voogd fired in the next just before the end of the second quarter for a strong lead but things were not going fully their way. Van der Weerden saw a penalty stroke brilliantly saved by Gourlay.

Teun Beins did nail a corner drag-flick for the third before Lucas Martinez added another before half-time on the backhand; 4-0 at half-time.

The second half saw Grange continue to be dogged in defence, taking the sting out of the Oranje-Rood attacks but they did concede another when Briels finished off in the 42nd minute.

Martinez thrashed in his second during the endgame to complete a strong win that means the Eindhoven club need a draw or better on Sunday against SV Arminen to reach the KO16.

Match photos

No photos available yet


HC Oranje-Rood

1 Mark Jenniskens
6 Rashid Mehmood
7 Rizwan Muhammad
9 Jim van de Venne
10 Thomas Briels
11 Mink van der Weerden
12 Gijs van Merriënboer
13 Benjamin Stanzl
14 Nicolaas van der Schoot
15 Bodie Berenos
16 Mark Rijkers
17 Teun Beins
18 Rob Reckers
19 Bob de Voogd
20 Max de Bie
21 Max Kuijpers
22 Lucas Martinez
23 Joep de Mol
24 Robert van der Horst
25 Bram Huijbregts
26 Pirmin Blaak
28 Sheldon Schouten
29 Daan Niesen
30 Maurits Hoogbergen
31 Thijs Janssen
32 Sander van Berkel

Grange HC

Tario Ahlers 0
Douglas Gourlay 1
Ralph Weissen 2
Alasdair Irvine 3
Robbie Shepherdson 4
Andy Graham 5
Gregory Hopkinson 6
Cameron Fraser 7
Daniel Coultas 8
Callum Milne 9
Frank Ryan 10
Todd Mills 11
Jacob Tweedie 12
John McCluskey 14
Ritchie McCluskey 16
Alan Johnston 17
Clemens Rusnjak 18
Michael McKenzie 19
Dylan Bean 20
Charlie Gates 21
Duncan Riddell 22
Alex Riddell 23
James Nairn 25
Lucas Grubb 26
Simon Naughtin 27
Jonathan Hawley 28
Tom Foulds 29
Jonathan Baird 31
Murray Caughey 32