Match Details

4 - 0
22 Apr 15:15 CET


'42 William Ghislain (19) - FG
'58 Gauthier Boccard (10) - PC
'60 Maxime Bertrand (3) - FG
'60 Quentin Van Lierde (20) - FG


'45 John-John Dohmen
'50 Jeremy Wilbers
'52 William Ghislain
'58 Johannes Grosse

Match videos

Watch them on our video platform

Match report

Waterloo Ducks became the first Belgian club to win the Euro Hockey League as they put in a monumental defensive performance to beat 2017 champions Rot Weiss Koln to the crown.

Second half goals from ABN AMRO Talent of the EHL William Ghislain, Max Bertrand, Quentin van Lierde and Gauthier Boccard saw them home but it owed a massive amount to Vincent Vanasch’s brilliance as the goalkeeper became one of a rare breed to win the EHL with two different clubs.

It was lively right from the beginning as defender Kai Aichinger tore forward in the first phases to cause trouble while Pieter van Straaten and Renaud Pangrazio were buzzing up front for the Ducks.

Vincent Vanasch made two outstanding saves with Jonas Gomoll testing the world goalkeeper of the year’s mettle.

He was again brilliant early in the second half when Marco Miltkau’s under the arm pass was just chipped up at close quarters but Vanasch raised an arm to palm it away.

Rot-Weiss had a goal disallowed when Eric Knobling’s shinpad deflected into the goal from Johannes Grosse’s upright reverse-stick cross. The video umpire came to their rescue that time.

Then, against the run of play, Waterloo used their first real chance of note to set William Ghislain free on the right of the circle and he pumped the ball under Victor Aly for his second goal in two days.

Waterloo began to fall into foul trouble with a series of green cards forcing them deeper and deeper in defence. Mats Grambusch was denied by the post and then smahsed a volley into Vanasch’s pads from another big chance.

The Ducks survived with nine men for a spell and then, as Rot Weiss took off Aly in favour of an extra attacker, Waterloo pounded. Pangrazio won a corner with less than three minutes to go and Gauthier Boccard showed no mercy to the unpadded masses to make it 2-0.

Bertrand then profited from more Ghislain brilliance when he laid off the ball into the circle for the striker to add an extra golden moment. Van Lierde even had time to added another with one second to go.

Match photos

No photos available yet


Waterloo Ducks HC

2 Floris Hoffmann
3 Maxime Bertrand
4 Pieter van Straaten
5 Guillaume van Marcke
6 Romain Penelle
7 John-John Dohmen
8 Arnaud Massaert
9 Maxime van Oost
10 Gauthier Boccard
11 Louis Capelle
12 Benjamin Guisset
13 Nicolas Dumont
14 Jeremy Wilbers
16 Julien Lemaire
17 Jeremy Caenen
18 Matheo Courouble
19 William Ghislain
20 Quentin Van Lierde
21 Vincent Vanasch
22 Victor Charlet
23 Renaud Pangrazio
25 Simon Gougnard
26 Louis Depelsenaire
27 Louis De Backer
28 Manu Cockelaere
29 Thomas Debizet
30 Pierre De Gratie
31 Maxime Capelle
32 Elliot Van Strydonck

Rot-Weiss Koln

Elias Würker 2
Mats Grambusch 3
Lukas Trompertz 4
Kai Aichinger 5
Joshua Delarber 6
Antheus Barry 7
Florian Adrians 8
Martin Chorus 9
Moritz Trompertz 10
Luis Höchemer 11
Max Werner 12
Florian Pelzner 13
Jonas Gomoll 14
Tom Grambusch 15
Hendrik Schwarzer 16
Christopher Rühr 17
Maximilian Siegburg 18
Constantin Illies 20
Jan Fleckhaus 21
Marco Miltkau 22
Thies Prinz 23
Johannes Grosse 24
Eric Knobling 25
Timur Oruz 27
Benedikt Swiatek 28
Nicolas Hillmann 29
Victor Aly 30
Moritz Zimmermann 31
Joshua Onyekwue 32