Match Details

3 - 1
22 Apr 13:00 CET


'33 Gonzalo Peillat (2) - PC
'50 Lucas Baron (19) - FG
'51 Gonzalo Peillat (2) - PC
'55 Timm Haase (27) - FG


'15 Danny Nguyen
'49 Guillermo Fortuño
'55 Timm Haase
'60 Pablo de Abadal

Match videos

Watch them on our video platform

Match report

Gonzalo Peillat’s penalty corner double powered Mannheimer HC to their first ever EHL medal as they took bronze with a strong second half performance to deny Real Club de Polo their first ever place on the podium.

“The feeling is perfect, the side made a really good effort for the whole week and I am really proud of the way they gave everything,” Peillat said afterwards.

“Playing three days in a row is something we are not used to do at a high performance level. Both teams were pretty tired so we tried to play on the counter and maybe nick a corner from that perspective.”

Indeed, in terms of his many goals before, Peillat said the one to make it 1-0 was one to remember.

“The first one was a little bit special. We had planned it but maybe not quite so close to the corner – that was a little surprise to even me! It means a lot for us to get this medal, for us to keep growing as a club and to play every year in the EHL will keep us growing.”

The first half was cagey as both sides looked to suss each other out at the end of a long tournament in the Eindhoven heat. Polo won the only corner of the half but could not make it count while Mannheim – with Danny Nguyen to the fore – started to apply the pressure as time went on.

Peillat’s powerful pass was just tipped wide by Tino Nguyen while Teo Hinrichs’ ball went through the circle without a touch, leaving it scoreless at half-time.

The German side continued that momentum into the second half and won a couple of corners, the first of which Mario Fernandez saved. The second one, however, was planted into the top corner by Peillat in the 33rd minute for a crucial lead.

They looked reasonably in control of that narrow lead for much of the third quarter though they did require Lukas Stumpf to get down low to deny Pablo de Abadal when a bouncing cross beat the first two blockers.

And, despite going down to 10 players, Polo fought back to get level with 10 minutes to go when Roc Oliva found a lovely line of pass into the circle and Lucas Baron scored his second goal in two days for 1-1.

The lead lasted just one minute, however, with Peillat rifling home another drag-flick and Timm Haase got the killer blow with five minutes to go when he lifted a chance on the run over Fernandez for the 3-1 lead.

For goalkeeper Lukas Stumpf, he was one of the shortlisted players for the ABN AMRO Talent of the EHL and he was delighted to play his part in the success.

“Yesterday was disappointing for the group but today we showed a strong performance, showed good structure and with the best drag-flicker in the world, it made the difference today. We are so happy to be the third best team in Europe.

“It was hard to come back but we wanted to finish our EHL season with a medal. We are very proud to be the first Mannheimer HC to win this kind of medal but our goal now is to be the EHL champion maybe next year.”

Match photos

No photos available yet


Mannheimer HC

1 Jaques Danneberg
2 Gonzalo Peillat
3 Christopher Held
4 Lukas Stumpf
5 Rob Farrington
6 Teo Hinrichs
7 Tino Nguyen
8 Philipp Huber
9 Luis Holste
10 Linus Müller
11 Jossip Anzeneder
12 Lucas Vila
13 Paul Zmyslony
14 Frederik Hillmann
15 Moritz Frey
17 Patrick Harris
18 Mario Schachner
19 Felix Schües
20 Thimo Bernet
21 Jon Mechtold
22 Danny Nguyen
23 Jan-Philipp Fischer
24 Maximilian Neumann
25 Gabriel Ho-Garcia
26 Guido Barreiros
27 Timm Haase
30 Jean Danneberg
31 Marcel Goebel
32 Julius Döbele

Real Club de Polo

Mario Fernandez 1
Javier Cabot 2
Borja Llorens 3
Pablo de Abadal 4
Guillermo Chaves 6
Alex Reyne 7
Alex Casasayas 9
David Alegre 10
Roc Oliva 11
Marc Reyne 12
Llorenç Piera 13
Javier Esteban 14
Pedro Giralt 15
Max Romagosa 16
Xavier Lleonart 17
Tomás Terradas 18
Lucas Baron 19
Javier Uriach 20
Matias Rey 22
Salvador Armenteras 23
Francisco Cavaller 24
Pablo Farre 25
Marcos Giralt 26
Guillermo Fortuño 27
Oscar Recasens 28
Luis Fortuny 29
Pedro Permanyer 30
Luis Calzado 31
Alfredo Baron 32