Match Details

3 - 1
15 Apr 14:45 CET


'14 Phillip Roper (15) - FG
'35 Benjamin Arnold (3) - FG
'49 Julius Schmid (8) - FG
'60 Phillip Roper (15) - FG


'23 John Kinder
'43 Julius Schmid
'45 Peter Friend

Match videos

Watch them on our video platform

Match report

A Phil Roper-inspired Wimbledon advanced to the KO8 for the first time as they beat UHC Hamburg 3-1, putting them through to the last eight on Monday.

He was the star man in a fine performance that saw them go ahead in the 14th minute and they never looked back after that. Roper was the instigator of that goal with a lovely body-feint that sent Nico Jacobi sprawling before shooting toward goal on his backhand. The cross was turned in by a defender.

The English champions continued to attack in the second quarter and then went 2-0 early in the second half. Ben Arnold got the next goal, finishing off after some gorgeous work on the left baseline by Simon Mantell, beating a couple of players with a delicate lift over a stick.

Julius Schmid got one back with a delicate touch to a crash ball with 11 minutes to go and they had a couple of corners in the closing stages to get level. But Wimbledon closed out the game well, especially after Moritz Fuerste took over the goalkeeping duties.

He made a big save but powerless to stop the third goal go in with 15 seconds to go with Roper the deserving man to get on the end of the move.



1 Oliver Meyer-Bothling
2 James Bailey
3 Benjamin Arnold
5 Peter Friend
6 Henry Weir
7 Peter Millar
8 Ian Sloan
9 Simon Mantell
10 Steven Ebbers
12 Peter Small
12 Michael Hoare
15 Phillip Roper
17 Phillip Ball
18 Gareth Hall
20 Christopher Gregg
21 Borja Llorens
22 Nathaneal Stewart
24 Ben Tibble
28 Gordon McIntyre
32 John Kinder

UHC Hamburg

Nicolas Jacobi 1
Fynn Oldenburg 2
Tino Teschke 4
Moritz Polk 6
Julius Schmid 8
Lukas Katterbach 9
Max Kapaun 10
Leopold Harms 11
Jan-Philipp Rabente 14
Carl Alt 15
Milan Weber 16
Peter Kohl 17
Oliver Korn 18
Anton Körber 19
Ken Gorny 20
Moritz Fürste 21
Hannes Müller 25
Gian Graffitti 26
Jonas Swiatek 27
Philip Schmid 30