Match Details

1 - 2
14 Apr 21:30 CET


'34 Mats Grambusch (3) - FG
'40 Jonas Gomoll (14) - FG
'52 Quirijn Caspers (9) - FG


'6 Moritz Trompertz
'22 Christopher Rühr
'25 Salvador Piera
'54 Salvador Piera
'60 Christopher Rühr

Match videos

Watch them on our video platform

Match report

Rot-Weiss Köln produced a superb third quarter pair of goals to beat their nemesis SV Kampong in the EHL KO16, advancing to a date with Real Club de Polo in Sunday’s KO8.

Mats Grambusch and Jonas Gomoll helped build a 2-0 advantage and while Quirijn Caspers got one back for the reigning champions, Rot Weiss held out a series of penalty corners to complete the victory.

The first half was played at full tempo with some Martijn Havenga drawing the best from Victor Aly while Sander de Wijn hit the outside of the goal with a shot. David Harte, at the other end, made some key interventions to keep the game scoreless going into the second half.

From there, Rot Weiss hit full flow in the third quarter and they went in front in the 34th minute when Mats Grambusch finished off a spectacular move, created by Christopher Rühr’s pass through to Marco Miltkau and his brilliant under the arm touch.

Gomoll then smashed home a rebound after Harte had denied Rühr’s first up shot to have Rot-Weiss flying.

Kampong awoke thereafter and proceeded to pummel the German side’s defences. Sjoerd de Wert’s cross was turned in Caspers with eight minutes to go to reduce the deficit to 2-1 and Kampong won a series of corners to have a chance of equalising.

Matthias Müller brilliantly denied Martijn Havenga on the left post while Jip Janssen was also kept out by a huge defensive effort in the closing minutes to finally get over the line.


SV Kampong

1 David Harte
3 Sjoerd de Wert
4 Jip Janssen
6 Lars Balk
7 Erik Bouwens
9 Quirijn Caspers
10 Constantijn Jonker
11 Bjorn Kellerman
12 Sander de Wijn
13 Salvador Piera
14 Robbert Kemperman
16 Floris de Ridder
17 Boet Phijffer
18 Casper Roelofs
20 Philip Meulenbroek
21 Dylan Vermeij
22 Martijn Havenga
23 Pepijn Luijkx
24 Jasper Luijkx
25 Hidde Brink
26 Teun Kropholler
28 Niek Hendriks
29 Rutger Marres
30 David Wolff

Rot Weiss Koln

Simon Wenzel 2
Mats Grambusch 3
Kai Aichinger 5
Joshua Delarber 6
Alexander Schöllkopf 7
Florian Adrians 8
Martin Chorus 9
Moritz Trompertz 10
Florian Scholten 11
Max Werner 12
Henning Hüttermann 13
Jonas Gomoll 14
Tom Grambusch 15
Hendrik Schwarzer 16
Christopher Rühr 17
Christopher Zeller 19
Marcel Meurer 20
Jan Fleckhaus 21
Marco Miltkau 22
Timur Oruz 23
Mathias Müller 27
Benedikt Swiatek 28
Niclas Hillmann 29
Victor Aly 30
Maximilian Gebel 31
Peter Schlich 32