Match Details

2 - 1
15 Apr 19:15 CET


'14 Guido Barreiros (26) - FG
'52 Pau Quemada (7) - PC
'56 Felix Schües (19) - FG


'46 Pau Quemada
'52 Rhett Halkett
'54 Jan-Philipp Fischer

Match videos

Watch them on our video platform

Match report

Felix Schues’ beautiful low bullet saw Mannheimer HC win their first ever knock-out game, defeating Club Egara 2-1 thanks to his 56th minute strike late on.

It capped a speedy, end-to-end tussle as Mannheim became the second German side to reach the KO8. In total, there will be six different nations in the KO8, the most there has ever been in the 10 seasons of the EHL.

Guido Barreiros got Mannheim up and running with a close range finish after Florian Woesch broke down the right baseline and fed the ball across through a forest of sticks.

Quico Cortes needed to be alert to make some great stops during this phase, keeping out the rampaging Luca Muller. Andreas Spack needed to stay on his toes to keep out Guillem Fustagueras’s deflection.

Edu Arbos saw another powerful shot go just wide as Egara raised their tempo in the second half. They got level with nine minutes to go when Pau Quemada fired home a low drag-flick.

But Mannheimer settled and, once a suspension was served, they summoned a late attack from which Schues was found on the left side of the circle and he produced his rocket across the bows of Quico Cortes.

They now go on to meet English champions Wimbledon on Monday in the KO8 at 13.15 CET in HC Oranje Rood.


Mannheimer HC

1 Andreas Späck
2 Gonzalo Peillat
3 Christopher Held
4 Lukas Stumpf
5 Tomas Prochazka
6 Teo Hinrichs
7 Tino Nguyen
8 Philipp Huber
9 Jonathan Ehling
13 Paul Zmyslony
14 Frederik Hillmann
15 Rhett Halkett
16 Luca Müller
17 Patrick Harris
19 Felix Schües
22 Danny Nguyen
23 Jan-Philipp Fischer
24 Maximilian Neumann
25 Florian Woesch
26 Guido Barreiros
27 Timm Haase
29 Johannes Laich
31 Jonas Verest

Club Egara

Francisco Cortes 1
Joaquim Broto 5
Josep Novell 6
Pau Quemada 7
Lluís Mercadé 8
Claudi Quera 9
Ignasi Usé 10
Guillem Fustagueras 11
Ramon Romeu 12
Eduardo Arbos 13
Xavier Aguilar 14
Ignasi Mengibar 15
Albert Pérez 16
Pere Arch 18
Miquel Espi 19
Marc Garcia 20
Arif Virjee 21
Franc Dinarés 22
Pol Gispert 23
Jordi Farrés 24
Joan Gali 25
Joan Torruella 26
Thomas Keenan 27
David Trujillo 28
Xavier Talamas 29
Sergi Aurell 30