Match Details

0 - 2
08 Oct 16:45 CET
Banbridge (IRL)


'8 John McKee (6) - FG
'30 Dane Ward (18) - FG


'24 Loïs Sevestre
'54 Owen Magee
'60 Dane Ward

Match videos

Watch them on our video platform

Match report

Banbridge produced a composed defensive performance to see off Saint Germain to the delight of the home crowd at Havelock Park.

It means they need just a draw on Sunday against Royal Leopold to reach the KO16 phase of the competition for the first time.

They got off to a great start with Jonny McKee going close on two occasions before breaking the deadlock when Owen Magee robbed the ball on the left flank and returned it to the centre. McKee was under pressure but showed enough strength to spin the ball into the goal.

Bann’s press was yielding dividends, putting the French side under pressure and earning good counter-attack chances. And they doubled their advantage with the big break closing in, Fraser Mills taking on a long corner and firing across goal with Dane Ward tipping in at the back post.

The second half saw Saint Germain fight back, making numerous good chances with Martin Genestet hitting the post while Gareth Lennox kept out three corners in a row.

Matthew Bell was the crucial defender for Bann who held on to the end, keeping out every chance to record a famous victory.

Match photos

No photos available yet


Saint Germain HC

2 Grégoire Samson
3 Joris Harou
4 Guillaume Samson
5 Guillaume Deront
6 Loïs Sevestre
7 Hugo Genestet
9 Pierre-Louis Verrier
10 Frédéric Verrier
11 Louis Goyet
12 Oliver Rockall
14 Fréderic Gohlke
15 Fabien Pourcelet
16 William-Ike Jeammot
17 Mathias Brachet
22 Martin Genestet
23 Victor Besançon
24 Tom Genestet
25 Thomas Pauchet
26 Blaise Rogeau
27 Kevin Mercurio
28 François Goyet
29 Franck Thievin
30 Martin Zylbermann
31 Julien Thamin
32 Romain Megnegneau


Gareth Lennox 1
Luke Roleston 2
Andrew Bennington 3
Kyle Marshall 4
Josh Moffett 5
John McKee 6
Peter Brown 7
Matthew Bell 8
Bruce McCandless 9
Jamie Wright 11
Eugene Magee 12
Jake Rowe 13
Philip Brown 14
Sam Farson 15
Fraser Mills 16
Ross Beattie 17
Dane Ward 18
Drew Carlisle 19
Hugh McShane 20
Mark Barlow 21
Mathew Allister 23
Owen Magee 24
Ben McMillan 25