Match Details

3 - 3
09 Oct 17:45 CET
Banbridge (IRL)


'2 Eugene Magee (12) - FG
'10 Maxime Plennevaux (15) - PC
'12 Alexis Lemaire (23) - PC
'33 Kyle Marshall (4) - PC
'34 Dorian Thiéry (2) - FG
'39 Kyle Marshall (4) - PC


'35 Corentin Detrez
'41 Eugene Magee
'52 Nicolas Poncelet

Match videos

Watch them on our video platform

Match report

Banbridge sent their home crowd into raptures with a dramatic 3-3 draw against Royal Leopold to earn their place in the EHL KO16 for the first time.

Bann got off to a dream start, Jonny McKee picking out Eugene Magee in the centre and the Olympian unleashed an absolute beauty – an upright backhand shot that portrayed the hurling skills of his younger days.

That came inside 90 seconds. Leo, however, regrouped quickly and set about winning penalty corners. From one, Max Plennevaux shot low to the right post with a deflection guiding the ball away from Gareth Lennox for 1-1.

Moments later, Julien Plennevaux hit the post with a diving effort before Alexis Lemaire dragged in the second goal from a set piece. Bann were rocking and could have been in further danger but for Lennox’s brilliance to deny Arthur Verdussen and Glenn Turner.

Bruce McCandless hit the outside of the post to show the Havelock hosts still have teeth to their attack and they were well in the tie at half-time, 2-1 down.

And Kyle Marshall had them back on terms two minutes into the second half, sliding on to a Matthew Bell push from a corner to set the cat back among the pigeons.

Dorian Thiery stole in to lob Gareth Lennox to restore the advantage but Marshall once again got on the end of a Bell pass to make it 3-3 with 21 minutes to go.

From there, they rode their luck to some extent as Leo pushed forward but got little change from Bell and Lennox as the home hosts went into party mode.


Royal Leopold

1 Lionel Geuzen
2 Dorian Thiéry
3 Romain Henet
4 Glenn Turner
5 John-John Dupont
6 Dylan Englebert
7 Arthur Verdussen
9 John Verdussen
10 Dimitri Cuvelier
12 Corentin Detrez
13 Nicolas Poncelet
14 Tanguy Zimmer
15 Maxime Plennevaux
17 Jerome Verdussen
18 Louis Decock
19 Amaury Peeters
20 Martin De Bruyne
21 Francois Sior
22 Julien Plennevaux
23 Alexis Lemaire
24 Archibald de Kepper
26 Vincent Deneumostier
27 Lewis Eaton
29 Elliot Van Strydonck


Gareth Lennox 1
Luke Roleston 2
Andrew Bennington 3
Kyle Marshall 4
Josh Moffett 5
John McKee 6
Peter Brown 7
Matthew Bell 8
Bruce McCandless 9
Jamie Wright 11
Eugene Magee 12
Jake Rowe 13
Philip Brown 14
Sam Farson 15
Fraser Mills 16
Ross Beattie 17
Dane Ward 18
Drew Carlisle 19
Hugh McShane 20
Mark Barlow 21
Mathew Allister 23
Owen Magee 24
Ben McMillan 25